Initial issues in Istanbul but a final finishing flourish

This race was the most popular I have yet attend with running friends. Three groups from the London region travelled out from different airports, and the one that was departing from the same as me was on a different flight. I arrived in the early evening, but not in time to get to the expo which was only 3 stops on the tram from the airport. So I took the airport shuttle which terminated close to Taksin Square and using the map I had been sent confidently set of to walk to my apartment. I actually went in the opposite direction to that which was required, and there was an incident. As I was walking past what looked like a shoe cleaner, he picked up his stuff and followed me.  As I was approaching some bollards in the pavement he ran past and barged into me, spilling what he was carrying. He spoke sharply to me, of course I didn’t understand him (but I thought I did hear the word “telephone”) so I shrugged and carried on. After he had picked up his stuff he went past me again, stopped and then kicked me on the shin. Of course I moved quickly away and he carried on following talking at rather than to me. I made sure I was with other people, but when they turned off and he was close I made the obvious choice for a runner and legged it. He didn’t respond to my change of pace! When I did discover I had walked more than a mile in the wrong direction my only concern was that I had to walk back along the same road. I made sure I was on the other side which was more crowded.

P1040555

Bruised left leg after kicking.

When I eventually reached the streets around Taksin Square  to look for my apartment I heard someone shout “Keith”. It was Dave Ross, he of Hermes Running, who I knew was coming over. Amazingly he was staying about 50m from me, and we spent much of the weekend in each other company, not actually during the race as he finished in 2:52. I also managed to say “Hi” to the amazing running/cycling/swimming machine that is Susie Chan, who with 3:27:41 can second in her age category.

Runners were bused to the start, on the Asian side of the Bosphorus Bridge, arriving an hour and a half  before the start. There was nowhere to shelter, and although it wasn’t too cold it wasn’t warm and there was a breeze. We found a road tunnel to spend some of the time, and the nearby trees/bushes off the road were used by many!

Istanbul is an IAAF Gold Label race, yet the start was unbelievably chaotic. A 15k race began at the same time and place, with parallel start lines, and they immediately joined so over 8000 headed for the Bosphorus Bridge which joins Asia and Europe. All 8 lanes of the bridge were used which would have been enough. However there were no starting pens, so anyone could start where they wanted and they did. Many local walkers had only entered so that they could cross the bridge, as all other times pedestrians are prohibited. So right from the start all runners were encountering many very slow, sometimes stationary, competitors.

bridge run

I am certain I must be in this photo

It became much less crowded after 13k when the 15k race runners split off to go their finish, but annoyingly after we done a 4k loop we joined the even slower ones again!

The weather conditions were ideal for running cloudy, cool, very little wind and drizzle on and off during the race. But what the drizzle did was make much of the running surface surprisingly slippery, and care really was needed. I actually ran right by the curb, which was dry but it did mean often running around the outside of curves .

The course wasn’t difficult. There were a couple of minor hills, one leading up the the spectacular Valens Aqueduct but they were not as bad as I had been expecting. Even towards the end which involved running up on cobbles towards the Blue Mosque for the finishing line was not as daunting as it seemed from descriptions I had read.

va

Valens Aqueduct

 

I was apprehensive before the start. It was only three weeks since my previous marathon, where I had actually run 45k.  The shortest interval between marathons before had been four weeks, after which was Edinburgh and that became very hard going after 32k. But this race was very different. I didn’t find it difficult at all. I had intended to run with the 3:45 pacer for as long as possible, but I couldn’t find it before the start. So I ran on my own at a comfortable pace going though the halfway mark in a time similar to the last 2 races. I actually moved up from 1547 to 1057 male over the second half of the race, passing 48 over the last 2.2k.

splits

I ended up with a 5:46 PB and felt at the end it could have been faster. I really do need to find a pacer at the next race.

So what do I put my impressive (well I think it is) performance?

  • I had used the same pair Asics Gel Nimbus for the previous 8 marathons (superstition?); since earlier in the year I have had a pair of Brooks Glycerine which I have trained in a few times and I wore for my big half marathon PB in Brussels 6 weeks earlier.
  • Core strength is bound to have improved tremendously just because I have run 8 marathons, with 7 in the previous 10 months.
  • I had a couple of beers on the night before the race, something I have specifically refused to do for the other races. Maybe this needs to become a pre-race ritual?
  • My bib number was 4109, which is clearly my lucky number as I had the same one for my Brussels half marathon 6 weeks earlier as mentioned above.
  • I have purposely lost 4kg since July.

I don’t usually bother with anything in the goodie bag after the race, but the Ulker cikolate with pistachio pieces was so excellent that since getting home I have sourced out a local supplier.

ulker pistachio chocolate small-900x900

The heavy medal of course features the Bosphorus Bridge and the technical top is the size it is supposed to be.  A second t-shirt is provided for finishers; it is cotton, covered in advertising and there was no size choice.

20141121_120754_resized 20141121_120826_resized

My Stats

Time 3:51:27

Position 1166/3877 (male 1055/3122) (1174 DNS and 305 DNF and 63 DQ)

Category position (male 65-69) 7/49

Age graded score 69.6%

Age graded time 2:59:28

certificate

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

