Running with the family

March 22nd saw the 150th Riddlesdown parkrun, and it seemed a good reason to get the family involved in my usual Saturday morning fun.

My daughter,  Cat, introduced me to parkruns at the end of 2012 and I have been addicted ever since. We had previously never run a parkrun together so it was great that she came over for this.  To allow me to keep up with a 3.18 marathon runner, Cat ran 16 miles to the start from Putney!

One of my son’s, Edd, joined us for his first ever parkrun. Not to be outdone by Cat, he cycled the 25 miles from Ealing, just a short training ride for his London to Paris 24 hour ride in July. He showed his school cross country pedigree by streaking away from us after 4k.

pr47.12 from video

 

Because this was a special event, I decided it was time to practice my cake making skills, and with a deal of success!

cake

Support and photographic services were provide by my other son, Andrew, and my wife Marion, and my next challenge must be to get at least one of them to run/walk the Riddlesdown 3rd year anniversary event in mid July.

2 responses

  1. Wow, your children are impressive. And that cake looks pretty good too. Well done!

  2. Thanks, yes they are difficult to keep up with!

Leave a Reply

