New Year Resolutions…in April!

Not possible, I hear you say.  the New Year doesn’t start then so this is wrong. Well my New Year does, 14 April is my birthday and it is a very significant year.  Although I have already retired, and I have my senior bus pass, at the end of this year the government will be giving back to me some of my hard earned money in the form of a pension.  Today I enter my 65th year.  When better to make some resolutions?  Actually it is that is wrong; they cannot be resolutions, more aims/targets because to some degree they are not as controllable as are New Year Resolutions, they can only be what I am hoping to achieve.

Parkrun

1 Complete 50 to get the red 50 top

2 Run in under 23min Achieved on 18 May

10k

3 In 50min Achieved on 16 June

Half Marathon

4 In 1:50:00
5 In 1:35: 00 to qualify for the New York Marathon (strange that you can qualify with a half marathon time)

Marathon

6 Complete my first Achieved 10 November The Athens Classics Marathon
7 In under 4h
8 In under 3:55:00 to qualify for the Boston Marathon

Which of these are likely?  In order

6 All things being equal, almost certain?

1 This should be OK.  To date I have done 11 Parkruns, so only need another 39!  Easy I hear you say, as with the extra runs there are at Christmas and New Year (and mid-summer?) there will be at least 55, so I can miss 16.  This will depend upon how many holidays out of the country  I take (I will be surprised if this doesn’t include 4 Saturdays) and how many other official runs I do, as I am unlikely to run a Parkrun the day before (my a week before a marathon); so far I only have 2 booked but I will be surprised if I don’t do at least 6 in the 12 months.

4 My most recent time in Marseille was officially 1:54:05; there were issues with the timing and I recorded 1:53:29.  The run included a section where we walked for about a minute because others didn’t want to run through  puddle.  Many other runners also suggested the distance also was not  correct, I measured it to be almost 100m long.  These 2 factors suggest a time close to 1:52, and because of injury the run was done with little training over the previous 3 months.  So the target is highly achievable.

7 This is the aim for many first time marathon runners.  The required pace is 10.55km/h; I have maintained more than this for 35k when not specifically training for a marathon, so I have to believe it is possible.

8 Requires 10.77km/h, if I can get under 4 hours I can get this.

2 At present my PB is just under 25min, but I have yet to run in anything but mud with lots of water making it hard going.  I’d be disappointed not to achieve this. Update. 1st Parkrun of my New Year, knocked 52s off PB, so now just 65s to go to achieve this.  Marvelous how a lack of mud helps! Further update. 5 parkruns into the year, 4 PBs and the ‘resolution’ achieved with a time of 22:58.  Feeling good after a my half marathon PB last weekend as well.

Although I don’t enter 10k runs I should do as part of my marathon preparation.  This target will involve running at 12km/h and my Parkrun target required 13.1 km/h.  But I don’t go in for ‘quick’ running… Did I set this target too low? On my first official 10k, RunThrough Wimbledon Common, on 16 June I ran 49:06:7.  It was Father’s Day and my daughter ran with me, rather than attempting to better her PB of 41:51 achieved the previous week. I can genuinely say I would not have achieved the time without her, and it certainly proved the point often espoused that having a partner to run with makes a difference. Although she didn’t actually bully me along the way, she did encourage me at the times I was suggesting I was suffering! And I proved to myself that you have to be prepared to push through the fatigue barrier when the running gets ‘difficult’. The run was even more pleasing as I had run 30k 7 days earlier and I wasn’t sure if I had recovered sufficiently to run at a good (for me) pace.

5 Not a hope!!

Of course the key feature to achieving any of these is staying injury free.

One response

  1. […] I’ve set a number of goals recently over on my blog. The main one is to run my first marathon – something I’ve been meaning to do for a […]

Leave a Reply

