DAY 4 ON YOUR BIKE, SHELDON

A couple of months ago our next-door neighbours left an exercise bike outside their house.  They are from New Zealand and South Africa, and in at least the first of those countries, it’s the done thing when finished with a still useful piece of anything, rather than taking it to the tip, a boot sale, or a charity shop or trying to get a few £s back using eBay or Gumtree it’s just left outside for whoever wants to take it.

Well my OH thought it be a good idea for us to have it. Being newly retired she pictured herself having much free time, and not being willing to risk the open road, she could put it to good use.  So it now lives in my ‘workroom’ and she sits on it occasionally when chatting to me.

P1030702As I definitely am NOT running today, and I have to do something, I thought I’d give it a go.  I don’t know how many years it been since I rode a bike, I suppose it was every school day for 7 years when I was of secondary school age.  And I do need to find some cross-training to do that doesn’t cost.  So, having downloaded the latest Big Bang Theory episode from the States this morning (Sheldon is in trouble for sexual harassment at work), with the Pro Fitness positioned directly in front of the monitor) off I went.  21 minutes and just  under 10k later I have realised I do have another form of exercise I can do that doesn’t pound the joints.  I even found an episode of It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia (the latest US TV series I am getting into) I was half way through so made the ride up to 14k.  I might even do more later.

And I didn’t fall off.

But I have really had to battle against the urge to run as my new Asics Gel Nimbus trainers arrived during my ‘ride’ and we all know how difficult it is to resist trying out new kit.

4 responses

  1. you should try Portlandia–it’s a hoot.

    1. Thanks for the recommendation, have located torrent of the first season, so will download it and give it a go.

  2. I assumed the title was refering to sheldon brown, the cycling guru who has a website

  3. I, too, wondered about the Sheldon Brown link. Just a coincidence, then. I must increase my cycling but have neither time nor health to expand on running at the mo! Keep the effort up!

Leave a Reply

